Unicode 9.0 arrives with 72 new emoji

Version 9.0 of the Unicode Standard have been released with 7,500 new characters, taking the total to 128,172 character. These additions include 72 new emoji, 19 symbols for the 4K standard and six new scripts.

Some of the new emoji include faceplam, selfie, finger-crossed, bacon, kiwi cut in half, gorillas, lizard, avocado, black heart and more. For the full list, see emoji additions for Unicode 9.0.

The new emoji should be available in Android N this Summer, and in Windows with the Windows 10 Anniversary update scheduled for July. As for iOS, it might be included in the public release of iOS 10.

The six scripts and characters in Version 9.0 add support for lesser-used languages worldwide, including:
  • Osage, a Native American language
  • Nepal Bhasa, a language of Nepal
  • Fulani and other African languages
  • The Bravanese dialect of Swahili, used in Somalia
  • The Warsh orthography for Arabic, used in North and West Africa
  • Tangut, a major historic script of China

Kaiser Bey
Kaiser is a tech enthusiast who likes to write, read and talk about tech. He dreams of going to Mars and never come back. We hope that you find his posts on AndroGuider helpful and informative
Unicode 9.0 arrives with 72 new emoji Unicode 9.0 arrives with 72 new emoji Reviewed by Kaiser on 6/22/2016 06:03:00 PM
Subscribe To Us

Get All The Latest Updates Delivered Straight To Your Inbox For Free!

Powered by Blogger.